Happy New Year

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

I hope you all had a great holiday season and got to take a bit of a break. The holidays are so much fun and in my mind, a really important part of building memories with your friends and family. There’s never a better time to get together and enjoy food, wine and lying on the couch!

We were very busy out here in California and a great time was had by all. Everyday I get to spend with my boys, Miles and Hayden, is not only a blessing, but an adventure. From heated head-to-head video game sessions to NBA games (Go Warriors!), there was never a dull moment. Hayden’s got two new teeth coming in so he did a lot of teething, gnawing and making funny noises. I’m not sure he got the whole Santa thing, but I’m sure he will soon enough!

Tolan and I had Christmas dinner over at our house with the whole family and it was fantastic. It is so much fun to get into the kitchen and just go, go, go until everyone is full. Here’s a sampling of our Christmas Day dishes:

Slow Roasted Pork Shoulder
Sweet Potato-Banana Gratin
Slow Braised Brisket
White Asparagus with Black Truffles (A FABULOUS gift from Tolan!)

So, I guess its time for us all to get back to work and into the swing of things again. I’m looking forward to a fantastic 2008 and hope to see a lot of you in the coming year! I’ll leave you with this picture of the family…enjoy!

Cheers,

Tyler

The Florences

11 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. amandajoy29 Says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family! I got your new book on my birthday last week and can’t wait to get into the kitchen and make something new. 🙂 Love the show and all the yummy recipes you provide me to cook for my family. Cheers!

  2. jill1549 Says:

    Tyler,
    My dad, Corky Corcoran lives there in Mill Valley~I live in North Carolina. Recently, he and I were speaking and I happened to mention that I am a Food Network fan. Well, I also told him that you were one of my favorites. Long story short-Thank you for taking the time to sign a copy of your Ultimate cookbook. It will be one of my best reads and hopefully I can do the recipes justice for my family. Happy new year and wish you and your family all the best.

    Take care,
    Jillane Patterson

  3. tracy0217 Says:

    Just wanted to say Happy New Year!! Your family picture is just wonderful.
    The baby is getting so big. Enjoy – the time goes sooo fast.
    Lookin’ forward to the next blog.

    I think you need to make a trip to Phoenix before it gets hot. We would love to see you out here.

    Tracy

  4. coltmp1 Says:

    Have a great 2008 with year beautiful family, Tyler! I’m watching new episodes of your shows and they rock! That cioppino….wow!

  5. Nevis Says:

    Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year!

  6. tablebread Says:

    Just found your blog Tyler. I am looking forward to you raising the FN’s image. With all the excess marketing going on they are really throwing themselves in the mud so we are looking to you and Alton B. to bring it back to respectable levels :).

    Cheers,

    Tablebread
    http://tablebread.blogspot.com

  7. melissa112 Says:

    Happy New Year! Sounds like a delicious menu! Your family is just beautiful, thanks for sharing!

  8. brittanyri Says:

    Hello Florence family! How is life on the West Coast?? PS-if you get an email about an asado cookoff, it’s from me!! Cute kids!

  9. aweeden Says:

    Hey Florence Family
    Happy New Year to you also. Tyler, just watched your ulitimate lasagna show, loved it. Actually I just wanted to let you know that it was great to see you back in the kitchen. Food 911, How to boil Water, and Tyler’s Ultimate is how I have learned to cook. I grew up without parents and never had any guidance in the kitchen until Foodnetwork came along. The types of food you cook are the things I grew up eating, therefore I am drawn to your shows ( I have to say that I’m loving Guy’s Big Bite show also)!
    Just wanted to let you know that most of us whom frequent your blog are pretty normal people who appreciate what you do.
    Take care
    Amy

  10. dianeg206 Says:

    Happy New Year to you and your beautiful family! Thank you for all of the wonderful recipes that make me look good in the kitchen. I do give you credit, but somehow my reputation is enhanced for assembling them.

    I would love to own some of those big glass bowls you use on your shows, but have not yet found them. Any clue to where they are sold or who manufactures them would be greatly appreciated. Perhaps you could add that link to your site!!

    Wishing you the best in 2008 and keep up the fantastic cooking!!

  11. lauriea Says:

    Hi Tyler,

    I love your shows and what a beautiful family!!

    Have a great year, I’ll be watching:)

Leave a Reply

