Rain, Rain, Go Away

Hi everyone!

I know we need the precipitation out here in sunny California but it sure does seem like its been raining for weeks!  Actually, its beautiful…the air is so crisp and clean.  The snow level is down really low right now and I can see snow on the top of Mt. Tamalpais…pretty cool!

Last week, I got to spend some time cooking with my good friend Joey Altman, host of the James Beard Award winning show, Bay Cafe.  Last Spring, Joey and I auctioned off a dinner package for 12 people at the San Francisco Taste of the Nation event put on by Share Our Strength and we reconvened this past weekend for the prize dinner. Thanks so much to Susan Sangiacomo for being the winning bidder and helping to fight hunger!  Joey and I put together a great menu…take a look:

Appetizers
Tuna Tartare on Potato Chips
Warm Brie Crostini with Fig Chutney and Prosciutto
Hay Roasted Porcini Mushrooms with Celery Root Puree

Soup Course
Cauliflower Soup with Truffle, Parmesan Croutons and Pancetta

Pasta Course
Roast Duck Cannelloni with Porcini Marsala Sauce

Lamb Course
Roasted Saddle of Lamb with Salsa Verde and Honey Roasted Roots

Dessert Course
Sticky Toffee Pudding with Roasted Persimmons and Crème Fraiche

The event went off without a hitch and again, thanks to Susan and her family and friends for their support of Share Our Strength!

And for those of you who watched Tyler’s Ultimate: Lasagna this past weekend, please know that we have made contact with the Food Network about the incorrect recipe that was listed online and it is being fixed…thanks for all of your comments.

So, next week we will have some news to share with you all and I look forward to telling you all about my new projects.  Until then…keep on cookin’!

Tyler

14 Responses to “Rain, Rain, Go Away”

  1. njtravels Says:

    P.S. I live in the SF Bay Area too and heard you’re opening a restaurant in the City. When will it open and where will it be located?

  2. fribbiter Says:

    Tell me about it! Weather report shows some sort of precipitation every day for the next week. While it certainly makes for a miserable commute, the evenings by the fire with ‘slow food’ dinners could not be better. And, of course, the mountains and resorts are getting all kinds of snow.

    Speaking of snow and slow food…

    I would have bet money that you would be in Park City this time of year. No Chef Dance?

    I’ve also noticed that several of the recent episodes of Tyler’s Ultimate (Cioppino, Lasagna, Winter Comfort Food, Etc.) have been perfectly suited for the colder weather. Very seasonal. Tell me that was intentional.

    I know taking the time to blog (or even do a radio show in New York) can be difficult, but it is definitely appreciated. Keep up the good work, stay dry, enjoy the family and we’ll keep watching and cooking!

    Jason

  3. ll1444 Says:

    Well it is about time you updated your blog, Ha Ha, glad you are back.

  4. ladyki Says:

    Congrat’s!!!! To you and your family. I have watched your show’s for these many years and wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your enthusiasm for what you do.
    Continued success…personally and professionally!!
    Have a “Happy” and prosperous 2008.
    Your Cooking Friend,
    Lady Ki

  5. littlespark Says:

    Yeah, no kidding about the rain. I work next to Strawberry Shopping Center, and the Seminary Drive freeway on & off ramps keep flooding. I’m really diggin’ the Punjabi burritos, downtown, near the Mill Valley Inn. Check it out if you haven’t already. Peace!

  6. ntjenkins Says:

    Tyler — looks like a fantastic menu as usual! Thought I’d share that my wife and I received Tyler’s Ultimate at Home for Christmas and it has quickly become one of our favorite recipe books in our collection. Also I rarely miss an episode of “Tyler’s Ultimate.” Saturday mornings start with a big, comforting breakfast and a few great cups of coffee, all prepared just in time for my wife and I to sit down and watch your show by 9 AM before starting a day of fun and adventure. Sometimes if I play my cards right, my wife will let me stop by the grocery store in the afternoon and splurge a bit to make whatever we watched that morning.

    I continue to struggle however with whether your show or Good Eats tops my list of favorite food network shows :). Depends on my mood I guess.

    Thought I’d also share (in case you actually read these!) that I’m entering a chili-cook off today at work, and that your Texas Chili recipe from food 911 served as a starting point for my entry. Of course I was looking for your “ultimate chili,” which, much to my chagrin, won’t be available online until it airs TOMORROW!! Man what bad timing!

    Cheers,
    Nathan Jenkins
    Silver Spring, MD

  7. misterdarcy Says:

    I have watched you on Food Network for a while now, progressing from Food911 to my current favorite, Tyler’s Ultimate. I have learned so much from watching you, and appreciate how you say that “food should look like food”. I TiVo your shows (and a few others, too) and have bookmarked your website and blog.

    -Amy from Charlotte, NC

  8. williama9 Says:

    Hey Tyler — I just stumbled upon your new blog. I didn’t realize we had a celebrity chef nearby and am glad to hear you moved out to sunny (well, not right now) California! I’m in San Jose and got drenched running out for sushi tonight. Oh well, at least there’s no snow.

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi — and a much belated ‘welcome’ to the bay area. If you get a chance, swing by my food blog http://www.eatingoutloud.com. Keep up the good work!

    Allen

  9. dianabaker Says:

    Tyler,

    A long time ago, you did a split roasted garlic chicken with cherry tomatoes and pasta — I can’t find the recipe anywhere. Would you please be so kind as to list it here? I’ve moved almost half way around the world since the last time I used it and ….I want it back.

    Thanks,
    Diana

  10. tylerfan4ever Says:

    Hello Tyler, I would like to let you know that I’m one of your biggest fans. I just recently started watching Food Network and came across your show, “Tyler’s Ultimate” around Christmas time and every since, I’m hooked! I also have started watching Planet Food, what a great show.

    You are great to watch; very good looking and I would love to meet you someday. I did make your Ultimate Cheesecake for New Years Day and it was pretty good. I think I might have did something incorrectly though. The middle was kind of runny but it still tasted like cheesecake and it didn’t last long in my house.
    Question for you: do you or have you ever catered weddings? Because my fiance and I are planning a beach wedding in Oregon next summer and I am looking for someone to cater it. It was just make my whole day if you would be interested.
    Thanks so much and keep cookin’!
    Mary

  11. lvjensen75 Says:

    Hi there! I’m Lisanne in upstate New York, and I stumbled across your blog via a good friend’s site. That cauliflower soup sounds WONDERFUL ~ it’s so cold here that I’d like to jump right into that soup bowl and take a swim! 🙂 I really like your blog design ~ especially the fork and spoon logo at the top. I’ve been using WordPress for several years now and really like it. I’m over at bathtubjunkie.net. Thanks for reading my comment!

  12. Scarlett Says:

    It’s sad that episodes of Tyler’s Ultimate which are being shown here in Manila, Philippines are almost 6 months late or even a year, I think. So maybe we get to watch the Lasagna episode in the middle of this year. But just the same, we so love watching your shows – (Food 911 is still being broadcast here.)

    More power to you Tyler!

    🙂

  13. Nevis Says:

    Okay, I went ahead and made this even though I changed a lot. Let’s say it was…”Tyler-inspired” more than anything. And it was delicious. Thanks!

  14. raffeld07 Says:

    Hey Tyler, thanks for mentioning about the Lasagna recipe in Food network. I will keep an eye on the website for an updated recipe!

    Hey, what was the news on Regis & Kelly on Wednesday? I am sure you will let us know soon.

Leave a Reply

