Summer blackberries

Hi everyone-

Well, it was a busy, busy week…from San Francisco to Santa Barbara to New York and back.  And by the time I got home, all that I wanted to do was relax and spend some time with Tolan and the boys.

One of the things that Miles and I really like to do together is pick wild blackberries right here in Mill Valley.  Its a such a simple pleasure but truly satisfying.  Hayden’s just figured out how to walk and he’s running rampant all over the house.  So, Miles and I decided that the thorny brush might not be the best place for him and Miles brought along his buddy Kyle to join in the hunting and gathering.  For all of us to be able to take a short walk, throw on some gloves and eat and pick until we can’t eat anymore, is just a lot of fun.  And then, to be able to take it all back home and make jams and pies really completes the whole adventure.  Or, this time, maybe we’ll pick up an ice cream maker at The Shop and churn up some fresh blackberry ice cream.  Sounds like a perfect summer Saturday to me!

I hope you are all having a good weekend and enjoying some time with your friends and family.

Cheers,

Tyler

5 Responses to “Summer blackberries”

  1. rainjuliphotography Says:

    Down time with family is essential in keeping life good… was lovely to read about your blackberry adventure!… and good thinking on leaving the little man at home until he’s a wee bit bigger. I bet he enjoyed the pie you baked though! He actually got the best of both – to relax at home with Mommy AND dive into fresh blackberry pie.

    You all were smart with the gloves. When I go picking up in southern Oregon, I’m usually too excited to get going and just forego the gloves.

    What jam recipe do you use?

    -Rain

  2. ravengirl64 Says:

    Hey Tyler,

    Welcome to beautiful Marin County! I walked by your store the other day as I was training a guide dog (I am an instructor at Guide Dogs for the Blind in San Rafael), and I am really looking forward to getting the chance to visit the store in earnest. Best of luck with your new venture and enjoy this beautiful part of the world!

  3. sshuda Says:

    Tyler,
    Thanks for sharing your family outing with us. It brought back memories of a few summers ago when we went on a family trip to Dunsmuir, CA (near Mt. Shasta). My husband was on his morning walk when we discovered loads of wild blackberry bushes growing in the woods not far from the railroad tracks. Needless to say, for the rest of our trip we spent a good part of the mornings picking deliciously ripe blackberries. We didn’t have the luxury of gloves but the scraps were well worth it. My kids who were little then(4 and 2 with 1 on the way) still reminisce about our “blackberry trip”. Thanks for reminding us about what summer is all about. Yum, blackberry ice cream. Sounds like a good idea.
    ~Sandy

  4. mysticat2007 Says:

    I grow my own blueberries here in western Kentucky. I had a good harvest from just 6 bushes this year. I’m really enjoying all the yummy muffins, pancakes, waffles, smoothies, etc. Fresh berries rock! I’m hoping to plant some brambles like blackberries when the kids get older. Glad you had some good quality time with the kids.

  5. thefooddiva Says:

    Hi Tyler,
    Glad to hear things are well with you and the familia. Exciting to hear another baby is on the way.

    I spent this Saturday in Sebastpol helping a friend cater a wedding. We also picked blackberries and Gravenstein apples to use on an appetizer of walnut bread with goat cheese bechamel, apple relish.

    Off topic…I am gonna go out on a limb here and offer an invitation to my birthday bash that is coming up August 16. Knowing that you are a neighbor, I figured what the heck. I’m having a tacky tiki party at the Bamboo Hut in Northbeach..9pm Saturday 8/16. Would be great if you showed up. First flaming volcano drink is on me. Take care!
    Alex

Leave a Reply

